Welcome to our used hardback books.

Rankin, Ian. DEAD SOULS - Orion 1999

Quick Overview

Buy Our Book

Availability: In stock


Book At A Glance

Dead Souls by Ian Rankin. 1999 - Orion. For sale is a first edition, later printing. fine used hardback book in a fine dust jacket.

Share This Book

Rankin, Ian.  DEAD SOULS  -  Orion 1999

More Views

The Book 'Dead Souls' In Detail

The Book For Sale

For sale is a fine hardback copy of the novel, Dead Souls by Ian Rankin, published in 1999 by Orion.

Edition Details

Title Dead Souls
Author Ian Rankin
Publisher Orion
Edition first edition, later printing
Copyright Year 1999
ISBN 0752807234
Cover Price 9.99
No. Pages 406
Dimensions 24 cm x 16 cm
Weight (kg) 0.86

The book is a first edition, later printing as evidenced by being specifically stated on the copyright page.

The book has black boards and silver lettering. The boards have no knocks or signs of wear. Internally there are no marks or inscriptions. The pages are clean and not excessively toned, have no tears or creases, and the binding is tight and square.

The fine dust jacket is complete showing the original cover price of £9.99.

Overall a fine copy of a novel by a popular author.

The book is not an ex library book, it has no remainder marks or publisher's stamps.

Further Information

About the Author


Author Picture

Ian Rankin

Born in the Kingdom of Fife in 1960, Ian Rankin graduated from the University of Edinburgh and has since been employed as grape-picker, swineherd, taxman, alcohol researcher, hi-fi journalist and punk musician.

His first Rebus novel, Knots & Crosses, was published in 1987 and the Rebus books have now been translated into 22 languages and are increasingly popular in the USA. Ian Rankin is a past winner of the prestigious Chandler-Fulbright Award, as well two CWA short-story 'Daggers' and the 1997 CWA Macallan Gold Dagger for Fiction for Black & Blue, which was also shortlisted for the Mystery Writers of America 'Edgar' award for best novel. Dead Souls, the tenth novel in the series, was shortlisted for the CWA Gold Dagger in 1999. Black & Blue, The Hanging Garden, Dead Souls and Mortal Causes have been televised on ITV, starring John Hannah as Inspector Rebus.

He was awarded the OBE in the Queen's Golden Jubilee Birthday Honours List in June 2002 and is now the UK's number one best-selling crime writer. Ian Rankin lives in Edinburgh with his wife and two sons.

Synopsis of this title

A call from an old friend brings back memories and more than a little guilt for DI John Rebus of the Lothian and Borders police. Suddenly it seems Edinburgh's streets are crowded with the lost and forgotten.

Stalking a poisoner at the local zoo, Rebus hits upon a freed paedophile, camera in hand. Outing the man rouses the vigilantes and leaves Rebus with mixed feelings and another weight on his conscience. But the straw that looks like breaking Rebus's back comes courtesy of the US government. Feted by the tabloid press and put under Rebus's watchful eye, a convicted murderer is looking to play games with Rebus as his pawn…

Reviews of this title


'Rebus resurgent... A brilliantly meshed plot which delivers on every count on its way to a conclusion as unexpected as it is inevitable'
Literary Review

'Rankin's prose is understated, yet his canvas of Scotland's criminal underclass has a panoramic breadth. His ear for dialogue is as sharp as a switchblade. This is, quite simply, crime writing of the highest order'
Daily Express

More from Ian Rankin

See all our books by Ian Rankin

: Page: {viewNumber}