Welcome to our used hardback books.

Rankin, Ian. SET IN DARKNESS - Orion 2000

Quick Overview

Buy Our Book

Availability: In stock


Book At A Glance

Set in Darkness by Ian Rankin. 2000 - Orion. For sale is a first edition, later printing. very good used hardback book in a very good dust jacket.

Share This Book

Rankin, Ian.  SET IN DARKNESS  -  Orion 2000

More Views

The Book 'Set in Darkness' In Detail

The Book For Sale

For sale is a very good hardback copy of the novel, Set in Darkness by Ian Rankin, published in 2000 by Orion.

Edition Details

Title Set in Darkness
Author Ian Rankin
Publisher Orion
Edition first edition, later printing
Copyright Year 2000
ISBN 0752821296
Cover Price 16.99
No. Pages 414
Dimensions 24 cm x 16 cm
Weight (kg) 0.89

The book is a first edition, later printing as evidenced by being specifically stated on the copyright page.

The book has black boards and gold lettering. The boards have no knocks or signs of wear. Internally there are no marks or inscriptions. The pages are very slightly yellowing but with no other marks, have no tears or creases, and the binding is tight and square.

The very good dust jacket is complete showing the original cover price of £16.99. It has minor wear to the upper edge.

Overall a very good copy of a novel by a popular author.

The book is not an ex library book, it has no remainder marks or publisher's stamps.

Further Information

About the Author


Author Picture

Ian Rankin

Born in the Kingdom of Fife in 1960, Ian Rankin graduated from the University of Edinburgh and has since been employed as grape-picker, swineherd, taxman, alcohol researcher, hi-fi journalist and punk musician.

His first Rebus novel, Knots & Crosses, was published in 1987 and the Rebus books have now been translated into 22 languages and are increasingly popular in the USA. Ian Rankin is a past winner of the prestigious Chandler-Fulbright Award, as well two CWA short-story 'Daggers' and the 1997 CWA Macallan Gold Dagger for Fiction for Black & Blue, which was also shortlisted for the Mystery Writers of America 'Edgar' award for best novel. Dead Souls, the tenth novel in the series, was shortlisted for the CWA Gold Dagger in 1999. Black & Blue, The Hanging Garden, Dead Souls and Mortal Causes have been televised on ITV, starring John Hannah as Inspector Rebus.

He was awarded the OBE in the Queen's Golden Jubilee Birthday Honours List in June 2002 and is now the UK's number one best-selling crime writer. Ian Rankin lives in Edinburgh with his wife and two sons.

Synopsis of this title

Edinburgh is about to become the home of the first Scottish parliament in nigh on three hundred years. Detective Inspector John Rebus is charged with liaison, thanks to its being housed bang in the middle of his St Leonard's patch

Queensberry House is home not just to new Scotland's rulers to be, but to the legend of a young man roasted on a spit by a madman. When the fireplace where the youth died is uncovered, another more recent murder victim is revealed. Days later a third body is found. This time the victim is a prospective MP and the powers that be are on Rebus's back demanding instant answers.

Someone's going to make a lot of money out of Scotland's independence and where there's big money at stake, darkness gathers.

Reviews of this title


'This is, astonishingly, the eleventh Inspector Rebus novel by a writer who is not yet forty, but whose consistent level of excellence is unmatched in the field of British crime writing'
The Times

'An outstanding and highly recommended crime novel from a master in his field'
Scotland on Sunday

'Length has not added padding to Rankin's lean outlines; it has added texture. Set in Darkness is rich and complex.'
Daily Mail

More from Ian Rankin

See all our books by Ian Rankin

: Page: {viewNumber}