Welcome to our used hardback books.

Rankin, Ian. MORTAL CAUSES - Orion 1984- SIGNED

Quick Overview

Buy Our Book

Availability: In stock


Book At A Glance

Mortal Causes by Ian Rankin. 1984 - Orion. For sale is a first edition, first printing. very good used hardback book in a very good dust jacket.

Share This Book

Rankin, Ian.  MORTAL CAUSES  -  Orion 1984- SIGNED

More Views

The Book 'Mortal Causes' In Detail

The Book For Sale

For sale is a very good copy of the novel, Mortal Causes by Ian Rankin, published in 1984 by Orion.

Edition Details

Title Mortal Causes
Author Ian Rankin
Publisher Orion
Edition first edition, first printing
Copyright Year 1994
ISBN 1857979389
Cover Price 15.99
No. Pages 278
Dimensions 22 cm x 14 cm
Weight (kg) 0.49

The book is a first edition, first printing as evidenced by no mention of later editions on the copyright page.

The book has black boards and silver lettering. The boards have no knocks or signs of wear. Internally there are no marks or inscriptions. The pages are clean and white, have no tears or creases, and the binding is tight with some light rubbing to the spine ends.

The very good dust jacket is neatly priceclipped otherwise complete.

The book is signed by the author on the title page with no dedication.

Overall a very good copy of a novel by a popular author.

The book is not an ex library book, it has no remainder marks or publishers stamps.

Further Information

About the Author


Author Picture

Ian Rankin

Born in the Kingdom of Fife in 1960, Ian Rankin graduated from the University of Edinburgh and has since been employed as grape-picker, swineherd, taxman, alcohol researcher, hi-fi journalist and punk musician.

His first Rebus novel, Knots & Crosses, was published in 1987 and the Rebus books have now been translated into 22 languages and are increasingly popular in the USA. Ian Rankin is a past winner of the prestigious Chandler-Fulbright Award, as well two CWA short-story 'Daggers' and the 1997 CWA Macallan Gold Dagger for Fiction for Black & Blue, which was also shortlisted for the Mystery Writers of America 'Edgar' award for best novel. Dead Souls, the tenth novel in the series, was shortlisted for the CWA Gold Dagger in 1999. Black & Blue, The Hanging Garden, Dead Souls and Mortal Causes have been televised on ITV, starring John Hannah as Inspector Rebus.

He was awarded the OBE in the Queen's Golden Jubilee Birthday Honours List in June 2002 and is now the UK's number one best-selling crime writer. Ian Rankin lives in Edinburgh with his wife and two sons.

Synopsis of this title

It is August in Edinburgh and the Festival is in full swing. A brutally tortured body is discovered in one of the city's subterranean streets and marks on the corpse cause Rebus to suspect sectarian activists. The prospect of a terrorist atrocity in a city heaving with tourists is almost unthinkable. And when the victim turns out to be the son of a notorious gangster Rebus realises he's sitting atop a volcano of mayhem about to erupt.

Reviews of this title


'John Rebus, an outstanding creation... very ambitious and very confident with acute observation of the not-so-bonny side of Scotland'
Mike Ripley, Sunday Telegraph

'Rankin's ability to create a credible character, delivering convincing dialogue to complement sinister and hard-hitting plots set against vividly detailed atmosphere, is simply awesome'
Time Out

'Inspector John Rebus is one of the most realistic creations in crime fiction'
Sunday Telegraph

More from Ian Rankin

See all our books by Ian Rankin

: Page: {viewNumber}