Welcome to our used hardback books.

Rankin, Ian. THE FALLS - Orion 2001

Quick Overview

Buy Our Book

Availability: In stock


Book At A Glance

The Falls by Ian Rankin. 2001 - Orion. For sale is a first edition, first printing. fine used hardback book in a fine dust jacket.

Share This Book

Rankin, Ian.  THE FALLS  -  Orion 2001

More Views

The Book 'The Falls' In Detail

The Book For Sale

For sale is a fine hardback copy of the novel, The Falls by Ian Rankin, published in 2001 by Orion.

Edition Details

Title The Falls
Author Ian Rankin
Publisher Orion
Edition first edition, first printing
Copyright Year 2001
ISBN 075282130x
Cover Price 16.99
No. Pages 395
Dimensions 24 cm x 16 cm
Weight (kg) 0.83

The book is a first edition, first printing as evidenced by no mention of later editions on the copyright page.

The book has black boards and silver lettering. The boards have no knocks or signs of wear. Internally there are no marks or inscriptions. The pages are clean and not excessively toned, have no tears or creases, and the binding is tight and square.

The fine dust jacket is complete showing the original cover price of £16.99.

Overall a fine copy of a novel by a popular author.

The book is not an ex library book, it has no remainder marks or publisher's stamps.

Further Information

About the Author


Author Picture

Ian Rankin

Born in the Kingdom of Fife in 1960, Ian Rankin graduated from the University of Edinburgh and has since been employed as grape-picker, swineherd, taxman, alcohol researcher, hi-fi journalist and punk musician.

His first Rebus novel, Knots & Crosses, was published in 1987 and the Rebus books have now been translated into 22 languages and are increasingly popular in the USA. Ian Rankin is a past winner of the prestigious Chandler-Fulbright Award, as well two CWA short-story 'Daggers' and the 1997 CWA Macallan Gold Dagger for Fiction for Black & Blue, which was also shortlisted for the Mystery Writers of America 'Edgar' award for best novel. Dead Souls, the tenth novel in the series, was shortlisted for the CWA Gold Dagger in 1999. Black & Blue, The Hanging Garden, Dead Souls and Mortal Causes have been televised on ITV, starring John Hannah as Inspector Rebus.

He was awarded the OBE in the Queen's Golden Jubilee Birthday Honours List in June 2002 and is now the UK's number one best-selling crime writer. Ian Rankin lives in Edinburgh with his wife and two sons.

Synopsis of this title

A student has gone missing in Edinburgh and there's very little for Detective Inspector John Rebus to go on apart from his gut feeling that there's more to this case than a runaway high on unaccustomed freedom.

Two leads emerge: a carved wooden doll in a tiny coffin and an Internet role-playing game. Rebus concentrates on the coffin, eerily reminiscent of sixteen similar relics found on a hillside in 1836, leaving DC Siobhan Clarke to deal with the cyberspace Quizmaster. She's young enough to navigate the net, but she may not have the experience to spot the pitfalls in a game where lives depend on split second timing.

With Rebus buried two hundred years in the past, DC Clarke is going to need more than just luck to save both their skins - professional and personal…

Reviews of this title


'A complex mystery novel, as you would expect from Rankin, one of a handful of truly outstanding British mystery writers... Terrific'

'Rankin continues to be unsurpassed among living British crime writers'
The Times

'The Falls is an inventive and absorbing book... highly enjoyable and exciting'
The Scotsman

More from Ian Rankin

See all our books by Ian Rankin

: Page: {viewNumber}