Welcome to our used hardback books.

Rankin, Ian. BLACK BOOK - Orion 1993

Quick Overview

Buy Our Book

Availability: In stock


Book At A Glance

Black Book by Ian Rankin. 1993 - Orion. For sale is a first edition, first printing. fine used hardback book in a fine dust jacket.

Share This Book

Rankin, Ian.  BLACK BOOK  -  Orion 1993

More Views

The Book 'Black Book' In Detail

The Book For Sale

For sale is a fine hardback copy of the novel, Black Book by Ian Rankin, published in 1993 by Orion.

Edition Details

Title Black Book
Author Ian Rankin
Publisher Orion
Edition first edition, first printing
Copyright Year 1993
ISBN 1857970802
Cover Price 14.99
No. Pages 278
Dimensions 22 cm x 14 cm
Weight (kg) 0.49

The book is a first edition, first printing as evidenced by no mention of later editions on the copyright page.

The book has black boards and silver lettering. The boards have no knocks or signs of wear. Internally there are no marks or inscriptions. The pages are clean and white, have no tears or creases, and the binding is tight and square.

The fine dust jacket is complete showing the original cover price of £14.99.

Overall a fine copy of a novel by a popular author.

The book is not an ex library book, it has no remainder marks or publisher's stamps.

Further Information

About the Author


Author Picture

Ian Rankin

Born in the Kingdom of Fife in 1960, Ian Rankin graduated from the University of Edinburgh and has since been employed as grape-picker, swineherd, taxman, alcohol researcher, hi-fi journalist and punk musician.

His first Rebus novel, Knots & Crosses, was published in 1987 and the Rebus books have now been translated into 22 languages and are increasingly popular in the USA. Ian Rankin is a past winner of the prestigious Chandler-Fulbright Award, as well two CWA short-story 'Daggers' and the 1997 CWA Macallan Gold Dagger for Fiction for Black & Blue, which was also shortlisted for the Mystery Writers of America 'Edgar' award for best novel. Dead Souls, the tenth novel in the series, was shortlisted for the CWA Gold Dagger in 1999. Black & Blue, The Hanging Garden, Dead Souls and Mortal Causes have been televised on ITV, starring John Hannah as Inspector Rebus.

He was awarded the OBE in the Queen's Golden Jubilee Birthday Honours List in June 2002 and is now the UK's number one best-selling crime writer. Ian Rankin lives in Edinburgh with his wife and two sons.

Synopsis of this title

When a close colleague is brutally attacked, Inspector John Rebus is drawn into a case involving a hotel fire, an unidentified body, and a long forgotten night of terror and murder. Pursued by dangerous ghosts and tormented by the coded secrets of his colleague's notebook, Rebus must piece together a jigsaw no one - perhaps not even he - wants completed.

Reviews of this title


'James Ellroy once called Rankin "the Scottish James Ellroy" in jest. They have the darkness in common, certainly, but Rankin has more elegance'
Time Out

'No one captures the noirish side of the city as well as Rankin'
Sunday Telegraph

'Ian Rankin joins the elite of British crime writing'
Marcel Berlins, The Times

More from Ian Rankin

See all our books by Ian Rankin

: Page: {viewNumber}