Welcome to our used hardback books.

Rankin, Ian. STRIP JACK - Orion 1992- SIGNED

Quick Overview

Buy Our Book

Availability: In stock


Book At A Glance

Strip Jack by Ian Rankin. 1992 - Orion. For sale is a first edition, first printing. fine used hardback book in a fine dust jacket.

Share This Book

Rankin, Ian.  STRIP JACK  -  Orion 1992- SIGNED

The Book 'Strip Jack' In Detail

The Book For Sale

For sale is a fine hardback copy of the novel, Strip Jack by Ian Rankin, published in 1992 by Orion.

Edition Details

Title Strip Jack
Author Ian Rankin
Publisher Orion
Edition first edition, first printing
Copyright Year 1992
ISBN 1857970160
Cover Price 14.99
No. Pages 269
Dimensions 22 cm x 14 cm
Weight (kg) 0.55

The book is a first edition, first printing as evidenced by no mention of later editions on the copyright page.

The book has purple boards and silver lettering. The boards have no knocks or signs of wear. Internally there are no marks or inscriptions. The pages are clean and white, have no tears or creases, and the binding is tight and square.

The fine dust jacket is complete, unpriceclipped but showing no price.

The book is signed by the author on the title page With the note 'Jack=my Son' I believe this to ve Mr Rankins son's name..

Overall a fine copy of a novel by a popular author.

The book is not an ex library book, it has no remainder marks or publisher's stamps.

Further Information

About the Author


Author Picture

Ian Rankin

Born in the Kingdom of Fife in 1960, Ian Rankin graduated from the University of Edinburgh and has since been employed as grape-picker, swineherd, taxman, alcohol researcher, hi-fi journalist and punk musician.

His first Rebus novel, Knots & Crosses, was published in 1987 and the Rebus books have now been translated into 22 languages and are increasingly popular in the USA. Ian Rankin is a past winner of the prestigious Chandler-Fulbright Award, as well two CWA short-story 'Daggers' and the 1997 CWA Macallan Gold Dagger for Fiction for Black & Blue, which was also shortlisted for the Mystery Writers of America 'Edgar' award for best novel. Dead Souls, the tenth novel in the series, was shortlisted for the CWA Gold Dagger in 1999. Black & Blue, The Hanging Garden, Dead Souls and Mortal Causes have been televised on ITV, starring John Hannah as Inspector Rebus.

He was awarded the OBE in the Queen's Golden Jubilee Birthday Honours List in June 2002 and is now the UK's number one best-selling crime writer. Ian Rankin lives in Edinburgh with his wife and two sons.

Synopsis of this title

MP Gregor Jack is caught in an Edinburgh brothel with a prostitute only too keen to show off her considerable assets. When the media horde begins baying for political blood Jack's friends rally round to protect him. But some of those friends - particularly his wife's associates - are not so squeaky clean themselves.

Initially Detective Inspector Rebus is sympathetic to the MP's dilemma - who hasn't occasionally succumbed to temptation? - but with the disappearance of Jack's wife the glamour surrounding the popular young man begins to tarnish. Someone wants to strip Jack naked and Rebus wants to know why…

Reviews of this title


'John Rebus, an outstanding creation... Very ambitious and very confident with acute observation of the not so bonny side of Scotland'
Daily Telegraph

'Rankin moves dialogue with the precision of a chess-master'
Irish Times

More from Ian Rankin

See all our books by Ian Rankin

: Page: {viewNumber}