Welcome to our used hardback books.

Rankin, Ian. A GOOD HANGING AND OTHER STORIES - Century 1992

Quick Overview

Buy Our Book

Availability: In stock


Book At A Glance

A Good Hanging and Other Stories by Ian Rankin. 1992 - Century. For sale is a first edition, first printing. fine used hardback book in a fine dust jacket.

Share This Book

Rankin, Ian.  A GOOD HANGING AND OTHER STORIES  -  Century 1992

More Views

The Book 'A Good Hanging and Other Stories' In Detail

The Book For Sale

For sale is a fine copy of the collection of short stories, A Good Hanging and Other Stories by Ian Rankin, published in 1992 by Century.

Edition Details

Title A Good Hanging and Other Stories
Author Ian Rankin
Publisher Century
Edition first edition, first printing
Copyright Year 1992
ISBN 0712651489
Cover Price 14.99
No. Pages 218
Dimensions 24 cm x 16 cm
Weight (kg) 0.45

The book is a first edition, first printing as evidenced by no mention of later editions on the copyright page.

The book has purple boards and gold lettering. The boards have no knocks or signs of wear. Internally there are no marks or inscriptions. The pages are clean and white, have no tears or creases, and the binding is tight and square.

The fine dust jacket is complete showing the original cover price of £14.99.

Overall a fine copy of a collection of short stories by a popular author.

The book is not an ex library book, it has no remainder marks or publishers stamps.

Further Information

About the Author


Author Picture

Ian Rankin

Born in the Kingdom of Fife in 1960, Ian Rankin graduated from the University of Edinburgh and has since been employed as grape-picker, swineherd, taxman, alcohol researcher, hi-fi journalist and punk musician.

His first Rebus novel, Knots & Crosses, was published in 1987 and the Rebus books have now been translated into 22 languages and are increasingly popular in the USA. Ian Rankin is a past winner of the prestigious Chandler-Fulbright Award, as well two CWA short-story 'Daggers' and the 1997 CWA Macallan Gold Dagger for Fiction for Black & Blue, which was also shortlisted for the Mystery Writers of America 'Edgar' award for best novel. Dead Souls, the tenth novel in the series, was shortlisted for the CWA Gold Dagger in 1999. Black & Blue, The Hanging Garden, Dead Souls and Mortal Causes have been televised on ITV, starring John Hannah as Inspector Rebus.

He was awarded the OBE in the Queen's Golden Jubilee Birthday Honours List in June 2002 and is now the UK's number one best-selling crime writer. Ian Rankin lives in Edinburgh with his wife and two sons.

Synopsis of this title

Twelve terrific stories starring Detective Inspector John Rebus. His home city of Edinburgh is not just the tartan tearooms and cobbled streets of the tourist brochures, but a modern urban conurbation with the full range of criminals and their victims - blackmailers, peeping Toms, and more than one kind of murderer. It is a city that gives birth to crimes of passion, accident and long-hidden jealousy.

Reviews of this title


'Rebus is a superbly drawn character; matched by the edgy authenticity of the Scottish locale and dialogue'
Sunday Times

'Very ambitious and very confident with acute observation of the not-so-bonny side of Scotland'
Daily Telegraph

More from Ian Rankin

See all our books by Ian Rankin

: Page: {viewNumber}