Welcome to our used hardback books.

Rankin, Ian. BEGGARS BANQUET - Orion 2002

Quick Overview

Buy Our Book

Availability: In stock


Book At A Glance

Beggars Banquet by Ian Rankin. 2002 - Orion. For sale is a first edition, later printing. fine used hardback book in a fine dust jacket.

Share This Book

Rankin, Ian.  BEGGARS BANQUET  -  Orion 2002

More Views

The Book 'Beggars Banquet' In Detail

The Book For Sale

For sale is a fine copy of the collection of short stories, Beggars Banquet by Ian Rankin, published in 2002 by Orion.

Edition Details

Title Beggars Banquet
Author Ian Rankin
Publisher Orion
Edition first edition, later printing
Copyright Year 2002
ISBN 075285237x
Cover Price 16.99
No. Pages 310
Dimensions 24 cm x 16 cm
Weight (kg) 0.68

The book is a first edition, later printing as evidenced by being specifically stated on the copyright page.

The book has black boards and metalic lettering. The boards have no knocks or signs of wear. Internally there are no marks or inscriptions. The pages are clean and white, have no tears or creases, and the binding is tight and square.

The fine dust jacket is complete showing the original cover price of £16.99.

Overall a fine copy of a collection of short stories by a popular author.

The book is not an ex library book, it has no remainder marks or publishers stamps.

Further Information

About the Author


Author Picture

Ian Rankin

Born in the Kingdom of Fife in 1960, Ian Rankin graduated from the University of Edinburgh and has since been employed as grape-picker, swineherd, taxman, alcohol researcher, hi-fi journalist and punk musician.

His first Rebus novel, Knots & Crosses, was published in 1987 and the Rebus books have now been translated into 22 languages and are increasingly popular in the USA. Ian Rankin is a past winner of the prestigious Chandler-Fulbright Award, as well two CWA short-story 'Daggers' and the 1997 CWA Macallan Gold Dagger for Fiction for Black & Blue, which was also shortlisted for the Mystery Writers of America 'Edgar' award for best novel. Dead Souls, the tenth novel in the series, was shortlisted for the CWA Gold Dagger in 1999. Black & Blue, The Hanging Garden, Dead Souls and Mortal Causes have been televised on ITV, starring John Hannah as Inspector Rebus.

He was awarded the OBE in the Queen's Golden Jubilee Birthday Honours List in June 2002 and is now the UK's number one best-selling crime writer. Ian Rankin lives in Edinburgh with his wife and two sons.

Synopsis of this title

Beggars Banquet is something of a departure for Ian Rankin and a very welcome one. Over the years, Rankin has built up an imposing portfolio of short stories. Appearing in crime magazines, written for personal appearances, or as one-off radio specials, they all resound with the singular energy and idiosyncratic characterisation of his best full-length novels. A previous collection, A Good Hanging, combined some first-rate tales with more workaday material, but this time round there isn't a single weak link, and the range of stories here is astonishing; this is a panoply of Rankin's approach to crime and mystery writing, and is that rare thing in short story collections: a book in which the tales can be read one after the other with ever-increasing pleasure.

More from Ian Rankin

See all our books by Ian Rankin

: Page: {viewNumber}